I'VE NEVER DONE THIS BEFORE??

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by arkiebee, Mar 23, 2010.

1. arkiebee

arkiebee New Member

Today - Second day of my spring break - 70 degree plus - (we got SNOW Sunday) and I thought I finally had a day to reverse my hives. Everything went great - textbook perfect - till I got to HIVE 4:

I still had the shim on it from the sugar because I knew I was taking them all off today - we have still had bitterly cold weather even this weekend. Anyway these Russian ladies built a comb - attached it to the inner cover and there were about 5 rows all about the length of an innercover and about 3 inches long. Now if you were out our place today and saw me at a distance, you would literally seen a big question mark over my head because I literally did not know what to do??? I couldn't leave it because there was no place for it, so I went ahead and reversed the hives and then I just thought I would take my hive tool and take all the comb off. I was so scared because I saw larvae, and upon a close look - see, I saw it full of eggs. I was so careful to look for the queen, but I never saw her. I was going to do away with the comb with the eggs, larvae, etc, but I thought I just couldn't do that, so I took the pieces and tied them to a sheet of foundation from a new hive body and tried to place them close to the center of the hive. I don't know if any will survive/ I just hope my queen is ok. My question is: How much did I hurt this hive, and if my queen was in that mess and I didn't see her would she go back into the hive with the other bees?