Just getting started

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Pnetz, May 7, 2012.

1. Pnetz

Pnetz New Member

I am just getting started. I am starting out with two hives. They are both from packaged bees with mated queens. They have both only been in the hives for about two weeks and I am starting everything from new. Yesterday I was in both of the hives and noticed some cells with nectar and pollen in them but i did not notice any eggs. I also located the queen in both hives. At what point should I expect to see eggs? I was also told to feed them sugar water which I am doing but they are going through a crazy amount. I am feeding out of a bucket with a bunch of sticks that they can climb in and out on (a recommendation from a friend with bees) and seems to work well. Between the two hives they are going through about a gallon of sugar water a day. Is this a normal amount for them to be going through? Im not sure like I said I am new but seems like a awful lots for the amount of bees. Thanks in advance for your information.

2. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

First, let me Welcome you to our friendly forum, you have landed in a bee friendly spot! :hi:Package bees when first installed on new equipment (foundation) will consume plenty of syrup in order to be able to draw out the comb they need for the queen to lay in, unless you have drawn comb. As well, eggs can be difficult to see for someone not used to what they are looking for. If you are not seeing eggs shortly, you should soon be able to spot larvae.
    Keep us informed! You have a wealth of information to tap into here. :mrgreen:

3. blueblood

blueblood New Member