late season swarm combine

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Vance, Nov 17, 2009.

1. Vance

Vance New Member

I need some advice please. I have a hive that went queenless about 2 weeks ago. i was going to combine with another hive on the light side. Yesterday i got a call for a new swarm about 6 feet off ground in a tree. I have not seen them yet (going today) lady swears they are honey bees and appeared yesterday around noon. She said they look about the size of a vollyball. This is my first year so was not expecting swarm call in November. Last night temps were in the 30's. My question is, if this is truly a swarm can i combine with the queenless hive, or how should i go about trying to salvage either or both. Thanks for you help. Vance

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Hive the swarm as usual.
    remove lid of queenless hive and cover with a sheet of newspaper.
    Place swarm, without bottom board, on the hive with newspaper.

FEED!!

3. G3farms

G3farms New Member

I would also make a couple of slits in the newspaper with a sharp knife to help them get started chewing through the newspaper.
    If you have any drawn comb to put in with the new swarm that will give them a big head start, they have somewhere to start storing what honey they have brought with them and the syrup you are going to feed them.

let us know how it goes and pics are nice also.

Good luck

G3

4. Vance

Vance New Member

Thanks, that's what i'll do, i'll try to take some pictures. Have you ever heard of a swarm this late in the year? I guess the only sure thing with bee's is there is no sure thing. Thanks again, i'll let you know how it goes.

5. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Most swarms this time of year are absconds rather than swarms. A swarm is where part of the bees leave and a new queen emerges to continue the original colony.

An abscond is where all the bees leave, because of no food or an undesirable home. IE: SHB, their tree fell down, ETC.

6. Vance

Vance New Member