Liability question

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Larus, Aug 8, 2011.

1. Larus

Larus New Member

I just harvested some extracted honey from my hives and would like to sell some to people. Someone I know has brought up an interesting question that I've never considered. What if someone eats some of my honey, gets sick for whatever reason, and blames it on the honey? I know that one doesn't need any permits or licenses to sell honey, but what other precautions do people take to avoid trouble and/or lawsuits?

Thanks very much.

2. Mama Beek

Mama Beek New Member

I'm not a lawyer, but I would imagine that they would have to prove that the honey was the source of the illness. I would warn about botulism for infants under 1....even though I don't necessarily agree with it...just for cya purposes.

3. gunsmith

gunsmith New Member

Laurus:
    Get on the website of your state dept. of agriculture. They should be able to lead you in the right direction. I live in Ohio, but the laws are different state to state. If you have a regular attorney (and too many of us do in this day and age) you may want to consult with him/her. I too am harvesting a small amount, don't know whether I'll have enough to sell-all my friends-"You're keeping bees? When do we get free honey?" LOL.
    On the serious side-check with Mann Lake, Brushy Mountain, or any of the other beekeeping supply companies-they sell labels warning about not giving honey to children under the age of 1 year. Like Mama Beek said, "I'm not a lawyer" but I would think that this would absolve you of the responsibility.
    Good luck

4. efmesch

efmesch Active Member

Does bottled water have to carry a warning about the possibility of choking? :confused:

5. gunsmith

gunsmith New Member