Little Tips

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by mick stevenson, Feb 15, 2010.

1. mick stevenson

mick stevenson New Member

Hello, this is my first post here as I am completely new to beekeeping, and just getting as much advice and information as I can before diving in and actually buying the equipment and the Bees.

I have been combing the forum and writing down things that i think I need, but I am really interested in hearing from the old timers if you like, I work in agriculture and am always hearing pearls of wisdom that you can never get out of a book from the older farmers, so would it be possible to give me them sayings or little tips on using this or doing that.

Thanks, Mick.

2. BjornBee

BjornBee New Member

Always have fun and keep a sense of humor.

Example....If anyone suggests they have completely resistant bees, a natural way of keeping bees, or anything that even seems absolute in any suggestions of being foolproof or 100 effective....laugh. :thumbsup:

Welcome to the forum.

3. Hobie

Hobie New Member

Not sure what equipment is readily available in the UK, but you may want to research using all mediums instead of deeps and shallows. Here's the opinions of one knowledgeable beekeeper:
    http://www.bushfarms.com/beeseightframemedium.htm

(Check out the rest of his site, too. Good info there.)

It's a personal preference, but I wish I had known about it before I bought. For myself, with only a few hives, the interchangeability would have been an advantage.

4. Mama Beek

Mama Beek New Member

That's good advice Hobie! We foolishly tried all deeps first.... not kind to the back, but we sure did enjoy seeing that much honey in one place.

Welcome to the forum Mick! :wave: A wise beekeeper told us when we started to ask someone (or many someones) a question about what you are going to do BEFORE you actually do it in the hive, you might save yourself a bunch of trouble.

5. G3farms

G3farms New Member

Welcome to the forum Mick.