Maintaining a Lang like a TBH?

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Skyhigh, Sep 15, 2011.

1. Skyhigh

Skyhigh New Member

I'm new to beekeeping, haven't actually gotten my bees yet, and have a Lang setup. However, I've been reading everything and am fascinated by the method used in maintaining TBHs. I'm not necessarily interested in using frameless bars. (Not necessarily not interested either.) But what fascinates me is the slow, continual maintenance of a TBH. Pullling one or two bars/frames of honey at a time rather than a full super. I sense that this method would aid in my becoming more and more comfortable with bees as well as providing more opportunities to learn about them (and make the whole raising bees/honey process seem less daunting). I'm also hoping that here in south Florida, that there might be a regular (on again and off again) flow of honey production throughout the year. Also, my daughter, who is doing this with me, had her first taste of comb honey two months ago and has decided it's her favorite candy of all time. So she'd like to go foundationless. I'm good with that. I'm also good with not having to invest in extraction equipment just yet.

That said, I have 2 questions (at this moment). Since I have Langstroth boxes, which I will use:
    1) is it easy to go foundationless? Even when starting with a nuc that uses foundation? And, if so, is there somewhere I can read up on this? And,
    2) is there a method that has been used to maintain a Langstroth box, somewhat like one does with a long, TBH? Moving the combs, harvesting one or two at a time, etc.? And, if so, is there somewhere I can read up on this also?

Thank you!

Paula

2. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

I would suggest that for most folks starting out that they should begin with a Langstroth hive and then attempt a top bar hive. Once established it is fairly straight forward to remove bee resources from the Langstroth hive and create a top bar hive.