Mite treatment

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Snowtop, Sep 25, 2017.

1. Snowtop

Snowtop New Member

I live in Southern Maine area. My one hive consist of 2 deep 10 frames and one medium 10 frame honey super. Yesterday I took off the honey super and put in basement so I could treat with Api Life Var. I just noticed I have brood in there. Should I be concerned they will hatch? There are aprox 3 frames like that. the rest have capped honey. I don't plan on harvesting until Spring seeing this is my first year as a beekeeper. I'm a little confused as what to do at this point.

2. Snowtop

Snowtop New Member

All set here. I got my answer.

3. roadkillbobb

roadkillbobb Active Member

welcome aboard, have you looked into oxilic acid vapor for mite treatment?

4. ccjersey

ccjersey Member

The honey in the basement is in peril!

Wax moth and hive beetle will soon hatch out and ruin it without the bees maintaining it. Freeze or refrigerate to stop them. I would sort the brood frames and put back on the hive for the bees to clean out or for any surviving bees to hatch out in the hive. You could swap them for some frames of honey from the upper brood box even though they will be shallow. The bees will build some bur comb on them but it won't be a problem to clean up later.

5. ccjersey

ccjersey Member

The honey in the basement is in peril!

Wax moth and hive beetle will soon hatch out and ruin it without the bees maintaining it. Freeze or refrigerate to stop them. I would sort the brood frames and put back on the hive for the bees to clean out or for any surviving bees to hatch out in the hive. You could swap them for some frames of honey from the upper brood box even though they will be shallow. The bees will build some bur comb on them but it won't be a problem to clean up later.

6. Snowtop

Snowtop New Member