Mold in the feeder?

Discussion in 'Pests and Diseases' started by freestargirl, Dec 4, 2011.

1. freestargirl

freestargirl New Member

Hi All,

I'm very new to beekeeping. We just got our hive this June. I haven't had a ton of time to look into this problem, so I'm hoping someone here can help me!
    We have been feeding our bees with a plastic 1 quart poultry feeder, that we had used when we first got our chickens. I cleaned it out throughly, let it dry after we were done using it with the chickens. I washed it again before putting it in the hive. It worked so well, that we got 2 more of the same feeders to use so we always have 2 in the hive, and one to go in when it's time to fill them up again.
    2 weeks ago, one of our feeders had some mold spots on the inside of the plastic inverted jar. I didn't think too much of it- it's been very warm. I washed that one thoroughly and even soaked it in some diluted bleach. That one did end up being the 2nd one to go back into the hive that day.
    Last Sunday, when I went to swap them out, the same feeder had more mold in it! I soaked and soaked in a stronger bleach solution. The other one that came out of the hive that went back in that same day I washed in the bleach solution as well, even though it didn't have any visible mold. We put pieces of gravel in the lip of the tray so the bees don't drown- so I soaked and washed all of the rocks too. I rinsed and rinsed and rinsed to make sure that all the bleach odors were removed, because I didn't want any bleach ending up in my honey or killing my bees!
    So today I go to swap them out, and one of them came out with mold spots again! I'll soak it in bleach again before I use it.