My first bees....

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Omie, Oct 14, 2009.

1. Omie

Omie New Member

I have mentioned on a couple other threads that I will be getting my first hive soon- a gift.
    This is my first hive and I'm a beginner, so I thought i would post this thread here in Beekeeping 101.

The plan is to move it around the end of October with the help of a very enthusiastic local beekeeper.
    The woman who owns the hive has it on the farm she has put up for sale, and she cannot keep the hive in her new home. She is giving it to me.
    The hive has not had its lower deeps opened for thorough inspection or had honey taken since Spring 2008. the owner did take off the super and looked in briefly last week and she said the bees looked good in the top deep though the the frames there were only half filled up. But there are two more deeps below.
    The bees seem to be happily going in and out and have been pretty much on their own for about two years.

I won't be able to evaluate the hive much until we get it over here, but here are some pix I took of it on a recent cold sunny morning, only a few bees were out and about yet:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Once it's here I have some good BK people willing to come and inspect and look over the situation and help me with a longterm plan.
    It has three deeps and a super. The super is in bad shape and will be removed- it's empty anyway, for all I know it doesn't even have frames in it and might have been put there for feeding last year. The owner had nailed a board in front to block the rot holes- that is coming off too. I have spare hive parts if needed.
    The top deep of the three is supposedly half full and we may remove the frames during the move.

I realize this hive may not do well over the winter for me, but if they die I have other local BK willing to get me more bees in the Spring, and I'll have my two new empty hive setups here as well