My First Swarm Call 20 Days Into This Venture!

Discussion in 'Swarms, Cut outs, and Trap outs' started by blueblood, Apr 23, 2012.

1. blueblood

blueblood New Member

It has only been 20 days since hiving my first bees ever and already had an opportunity to collect a swarm. I had told the sheriff's department dispatch I would like to be on their swarm list but this referral came from a friend that works at the animal shelter who knew I just started keeping bees. The young lady said a friend put them in a cooler and set them in a field but they came back to her shed. She called an exterminator to remove them today and was told he would kill them and it would cost $140. She did not have the money and really did not want them killed...pleasant to my ears :smile:. She said they were hanging low on a chair. I have never done this before and really, other than thumbing through a couple of threads in the swarms sections here, I had very little clue as what to do. I had plans to make a special box for swarms later this week. But, I quickly put together a box using a deep and a bottom screen board and the inner cover and lid. I also brought a vent super along. I am glad I had wooden ware already made up for adding to my hives and swarm possibilities. I will try to avoid using duct tape again because a few bees became stuck and it was hard to get their feet removed from it without hurting them. It's hard to see the swarm under that medal siding sheet but it was about 3/4 size of a basketball. It is on the bottom just right of middle under the metal sheet. I lifted the sheet of metal up and over the box and gave it a couple of shakes. I then turned the metal over and positioned it so it would help funnel them in the hive opening. They marched right in. I waited for a little while to catch the stragglers but it seemed like I would never get them all. I inventoried the biggest concentration of them left over, about 25-30, to make sure the queen was not left behind. There were