My first year.

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by heinleinfan, May 6, 2012.

1. heinleinfan

heinleinfan New Member

I wanted to share a few photo albums. If an admin thinks this post would be better suited in a different forum, let me know! These albums are from when I started keeping 4 years ago, and from a swarm capture, but I don't necessarily want to put them in 101, as I'm no expert! I don't want to say "Here's how to do this" but just share some bee pics with folks about "those early days". I enjoy looking back occasionally at my start, and reading my inexperience in my comments, (and sometimes reminding myself about my errors, heh) and thinking about how far I've come and how much keeping means to me now. I thought others might get a kick out of my pics, too.

I was making these photo albums to share with friends and family far away who were not keepers, but who all wanted to know about this "crazy" thing my husband and I were doing. (Seriously, who keeps bees in their yard, that's crazy! teehee) So, the comments on pictures might seem...patronizing to an actual keeper, as they are simplified explanations about what's going on. Just wanted to explain the comments so as not to offend.

Building Hive Frames (wired top bar frames with wired wax foundations)
    Installing a package
    Our first inspection
    Hiving a swarm (capturing a low hanging swarm into an empty hive box)

2. blueblood

blueblood New Member

Thanks for sharing those pics. Those frames looked like hard work. I like using the N style frames from Kelleys that have a slot and allow a foundation to slide right in. How many hives are you up to now?

3. Iddee

Iddee New Member

This forum is acceptable, but there is a BEE forum under The Photo Gallery if you want to keep all your picture posts together.

4. heinleinfan

heinleinfan New Member

Hi blueblood.