Naming your apiary?

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by DLMKA, Mar 13, 2012.

1. DLMKA

DLMKA New Member

I'm just a beginner on the whole beekeeping thing but I'm planning for the future here. My oldest (8) has shown an interest in selling honey and other products at farmer's markets and other outlets so I'm trying to come up with a name or something to put on a jar other than "Honey". How did everyone name their apiary. We've got a unique surname that's hard to spell and pronounce so I'm leery of using that. If we expand more and put hives on my dad's farm which he has named "Red Road Acres", where "Red Road" comes from Native American lore (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_red_road). I've also thought about trying to incorporate the kids' initials into something as I'd probably set aside any profits from the beekeeping venture into a college fund.

2. efmesch

efmesch Active Member

How about "Dad's farm honey". It gives a good, homey feeling.:cool:

3. riverbee

riverbee Active Member

i named my apiary after the river my land is on, the rush river, so rush river honey companyâ„¢, but the label on my jar is rush river goldâ„¢. the river is a very popular trout stream here in the midwest. for me, choosing this name was very helpful to promote my business, and to stand out.

sorry about my signature, it disappeared, and i think g3 stole it......:grin: :wave:

4. Omie

Omie New Member

I like 'Red Road Honey'. I usually don't care for names gotten from combining name parts or initials (R&J Farms, Jen-Ro Farms, etc)
    I say just go whimsical with something appealing to your boy- Bandit Bees, Rusty Ranch Honey, Scrappin' Bee Apiaries, Roughshod Ranch Honey, Busted Wagon Bees, etc. He might like some name that implies tough little bees or wild west, etc. Make it colorful and memorable, and poeple will smile and buy it.

I named my backyard hives "Wayward Girl Apiaries"....but obviously that wouldn't be appropriate for your situation...lol! :lol: