Never did this before

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by barry42001, May 19, 2012.

1. barry42001

barry42001 New Member

I have been beekeeping for a few years like 15, but in all that time, never had to chase down a virgin queen. It's been since the 12th of May when I saw the 2 capped queen cells, certainly one has hatched since then and either killed off her sister or a tiny afterswarm left. Either was surely there has been in all probability there has been no mating flights yet. I have a mated buckfast queen that left Dallas area the 18th should have it by Monday the latest. I know new queens can be runny, and all nervous figure virgin queens are the same but faster not slowed down by enlarged ovaries. The colony in question was one of the ones that were run over by a inbred in their pick-up, That queen was lost/ killed, I ordered the buckfast in spite of the bees starting their own queens, because I know the nectar flow is n early over, and by the time the hatching queen got fully mated and actually started laying eggs, over a month would have transpired before the first worker hatched out while they are steadily dying off from age. The buckfast will be laying within days even then mid June before first workers arrive on the scene. So I do have to track down the virgin queen, with such reduced numbers should not be too bad of a task. using the standard introduction cage can I immediately place the cage, candy plug in place to prevent release, at the same time I remove the virgin queen? Seems like I should be able to do it providing there is no other virgin queens hiding( since were only 2 and 1 would have either been killed off by the other, or left.) Any thoughts.
    Barry

2. Americasbeekeeper

Americasbeekeeper New Member