New"bee" from Ontario/Canada

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by SuiGeneris, Aug 29, 2017.

1. SuiGeneris

SuiGeneris New Member

Hello, I'm a very new to the beekeeping game (as in, I'm starting my first hives next spring...still in dreaming/planning mode). I've frequented this forum a number of times in my research and decided to join so I can ask questions directly. Looking forward to getting advice from the group!

In my other hobby "lives" I'm a hobby farmer and a life-long home brewer. My hope is to use the honey from the hives, yeasts harvested locally, and fruits/spices from around my property for making mead...sortof the ultimate "local" brew.

2. roadkillbobb

roadkillbobb Member

welcome aboard... have you tried to grow your own hopps for brewing?

3. Gypsi

Gypsi Super Moderator Staff Member

I make a little mead now and then, but a little leary of wild yeasts for now. welcome

4. SuiGeneris

SuiGeneris New Member

@roadkillbobb, yes, I have grown my own hops. Unfortunately I had to give them away when we moved this year, but I have already started prepping an area at our new property to plant in the spring. I'm excited about it - there were a lot of flaws in my old trellis system, so I've got a chance to reset and do it right this time around.

@Gypsi, I am a microbiologist by profession, and brew a lot with wild yeasts, so it more-or-less my wheelhouse. While OT for the forum, I've got a lot of articles on my blog (link in my signature) about how to use wild yeast if you ever want to go that route.

5. roadkillbobb

roadkillbobb Member