New Bee Keeper moving to Tennessee

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by bybyc5, Mar 13, 2010.

1. bybyc5

bybyc5 New Member

Hello,
    I am new to this exciting hobby, and was going to wait to start when I finished moving to N.E. Tennessee.
    I have been reading and studying for months now, watching you tube videos, etc.
    And now I found this great forum for what looks like a great wealth of information, and a bunch of nice folks!!

I live in S.W. Florida now and will be moving to the Kingsport TN area in a couple months, out in the country.

Low and behold a swarm of friendly bees made a home underground in my water meter box about 3-4 months ago (here in my Florida home), and have been growing in numbers.

So I could not resist, I got a 5 frame nuc, and made some empty frames for it and will attempt a cut out this weekend. Bought a veil, gloves, etc and think I am ready to try this.

If I don't do this the city may come out and kill the bees, and I don't want that!

Any and all suggestions would be very much appreciated!!

Thank you all for this Forum!!

Keith

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Be very careful and watch them closely. Africanized bees are known to be in your area, and also known to like water meters. European bees will seldom use a water meter, or any place under the ground level. Keep a close watch on them, and requeen at the first sign of hostility.

Welcome to the forum. We have a bunch of nice folks here, AND ME.

When you get to Tn., be sure to update your location in your profile. Beekeeping is very localized, so we wouldn't want to give you bad info thinking you were somewhere else.

3. G3farms

G3farms New Member

Welcome to the forum!

Iddee is giving you some good advice on the bees below ground level.

Good luck on your move.

G3

4. bybyc5

bybyc5 New Member

Thank you for a nice welcome, and the advice.