New Bee Keeper on NY/Vt Border

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by jcb500, May 30, 2012.

1. jcb500

jcb500 New Member

HI,

I'm glad I found you folks, I've been floundering w/ a very healthy hive now for about 3 years.
    Hive swarmed 2x last year and 2x year before. I'm on NY Vermont border 30 miles north east of
    Albany, about the same distance from Bennington, in Valley Falls NY. I am a trained Classical
    Gourmet Chef, and an avid Motorcyclist, classic machines are my favorite.

The hive is on a Native Woodland Plant Rescue Nursery, so the honey has a wonderful flavor.
    I have the Better Bee bee Max hive w/ 3 supers about to be 4 today, the hive is very strong. I would like
    to start another hive, ( I have the equipment), I have some crazy ideas on how to so this, but would
    like some expert assistance and or guidance.

Last year I tried to start another hive but it didn't work. I got a new queen and took 4 frames from the established
    hive and placed it in another hive box, and by the end of 5 days, the strong hive 86'ed the new queen and took all
    they could off the frames and back into the established hive.

Thank you

Joe Piska*Valley Falls*NY*SUA

2. dr.buzz

dr.buzz New Member

The strong hive killed the new queen? What did you do with the old queen? I don't buy queens since bees make their own so easily, but still, I feel safe saying I would have expected you to want to start your 4 frame nuc with the new queen and let the donor colony keep their old queen.

Or maybe you mean that you did start your nuc with the new queen, but the strong hive robbed out the nuc, killing the new queen in the process?

You'll get plenty of help here on what to do, and if you give more info on what exactly you did, you can get some correction on what you did wrong, if you want (and maybe even if you don't want :))