New beekeeper, Newer to this group

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Daniel Y, Jul 15, 2012.

1. Daniel Y

Daniel Y New Member

Just stopping by to say hello, Some may know me from other beekeeping groups under the same username. I got pointed in the direction of this group buy a member of another when the topic of finding less issue burdened places to chat came up.
    I look forward to getting to know this group.

I am new to beekeeping of my own hives as of this year. I started my first last may 14th and it loos like I may actually get honey from my first year hive. As of yesterday they have two deep bodies full of brood and honey one deep is completely honey, and they have finally started drawing comb in their first super. around here we still ahve alfalfa and even later sagebrush that will come into bloom. in the mean time my bees have foudn enough of something to fill a deep with honey in two weeks.

So for now things are looking good. I know enough to not expect that to stay that way forever.

I also have a top bar hive that was started about 4 weeks after the lang. I placed a swarm in it and am just happy to observe how they progress. not expecting much from them not even sure I can get them through the winter. it is interesting though.

2. Walt B

Walt B New Member

Welcome.

Walt

3. Americasbeekeeper

Americasbeekeeper New Member

4. Slowmodem

Slowmodem New Member

Welcome and enjoy your stay! :) You've found the friendliest forum on the internet!

5. efmesch

efmesch Active Member

Rest assured, you're not the only one on this forum who posts on others too.:eek:
    You're still just as welcome as could be. Glad you've joined us. :grin:

6. Marbees

Marbees Member

Welcome Daniel, hope you like it here where vanity is low, and bee obsession is high:grin:

7. bee whisperer

bee whisperer New Member