New Guy With Hive Painting Question.

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by riverwalker76, Sep 20, 2010.

1. riverwalker76

riverwalker76 New Member

I have already purchased my hives, and will be assembling them this winter during the cold months. I like to plan ahead, so even though I will not be painting my hives until January I still want to know what to use.

I am a Novice Woodworker and have a lot of finishes at my disposal. I thought about possibly finishing my hives in either White Real Milk Paint or 100% Tung Oil. Of course, I want to go as close to 'organic' as possible to ensure my bees aren't exposed to VOCs. I don't want to be exposed to VOCs, and I don't want my bees to be exposed to them either. ;)

What are your thoughts?

Thanks for the replies in advance.

2. Walt B

Walt B New Member

I think most folks use whatever is inexpensive and readily available. I use a white latex from a discount store: "discount" for being inexpensive and "white" because the hives are visible from the road and it adds a bit of a traditional feel.

This thread has several opinions and ideas regarding finishing:

http://www.beekeepingforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=2157

Walt

3. jonnybee

jonnybee New Member

I know many people have the hives dipped in wax. i think it works pretty good and that is how the majority of my boss' hives are.

4. Ducks®™

Ducks®™ New Member

Walt, I read so much and your a sweet heart,, this too again helped.

5. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

I have painted hives but currently I am using a cold dip (well actually slightly heated) combination of paint thinner, pariffin and just a splash of exterior stain (primarily to add a bit of color to the mix). which is of course the very VOC that you suggest you would like to avoid.

tung oil would be fine I would think. allowing some additional absorption into the end grain of the boxes is extremely important.

6. G3farms

G3farms New Member