New in NE Ohio

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Spaztck, Jun 18, 2013.

1. Spaztck

Spaztck Member

Hi everyone! I have been thinking about it for years, and finally got my first hive. I got my actual bees on Sunday and all seems well. I have been attending our local county beekeeper club meetings and have learned a lot. I am sure there is and will be a lot more to learn. I have read the book Beekeeping for Dummies, which has been great. I hope to do well this year and hopefully get a second hive next year. I would appreciate any tips and advice, since I am new to this. I did have a robbing situation my very first day! I was using an outside feeder, which is now on the inside of the hive. I am on a dead end street with lots of woods on over an acre of land. I am hoping the bees will help pollinate my garden. It's sad because as a kid we saw honey bees everywhere. This last few years I have been lucky to find one or two flying around.

2. efmesch

efmesch Active Member

Greetings on joining us in the forum Spaztck. :hi:
    At the beginning stages of beekeping, the best advice is probably read, read, and read some more about bees. There are plenty of great books to be had.
    Next bit of advice I would be so bold as to offer would be a suggestion that you move up to two hives as soonas you can. If one hive gets ruined or loses its queen, you are in a major pickle (-out of business). If you've got two hives, you can always use the second to help save the first.

3. Walt B

Walt B Active Member

Welcome. :hi: I'm sure you'll enjoy your time here.

Walt

4. gunsmith

gunsmith New Member

Welcome!
    WHOOO-HOOOO another buckeye.
    Where are you in the northeast part of the state? I'm southwest of you, between Norwalk and Mansfield.
    I gotta go along with efmesch, consider getting another hive asap rather than next year, not only will you have a frame or 2 from one if needed to prop the other up, but you also have some basis for comparison.