New keeper with bad luck

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by B.Matt, Jul 3, 2011.

1. B.Matt

B.Matt New Member

I'm very new to bee keeping. I started 2 new hives with a Queen and 5 pounds of bees each at first everything looked good, then bees started dieing. With in a week thay were all dead.
    The Guy I got the bees from said someone around must be using seven dust or some sort of insecticide on a garden. the only other thing I thought was the paint I used on the boxes has mold inhibitors (antifungel ) in it.
    Any suggestions I want to try again but don't the same thing to happen.

2. riverrat

riverrat New Member

we are going to need a bit more information. Did you paint the insides of the boxes. was you feeding the bees if so how much. update your profile to what part of tennesse your in. We have some members in tennessee that may be near you that might be able to help. It very well could be a pesticide problem. Can you tell us where the dead bees located at. Did they pull any comb did you find bees with there heads in the cells dead. Was there ever any brood when you inspected the hive. And oh yes the most important part welcome to the forum couldnt get a more friendly place to stop in and visit. By tomorrow im sure there will be several people chimming in to offer advise.

3. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

I would like to welcome you to the forum as well, seeing that this was your first post. Like the rat says, a friendlier place you will be hard pressed to find.
    I agree, a little more information would narrow it down. A week seems like a very short time to lose all your bees. Even if you painted the insides of the boxes (something most don't do or recommend) if it had time to dry, I can't see that being the problem.
    Glad to hear you are going to try again, and the suggestion to try and find a mentor is a good one.

4. G3farms

G3farms New Member

Welcome to the forum B.Matt :hi:

Where in TN are you at?