Discussion in 'Introductions' started by farmgirl47, Jun 23, 2011.

1. farmgirl47

farmgirl47 New Member

Hi, I just joined am interested in learning all I can before I get any bees. I am reading about the top bar hives and wondering if that is a good place to start. I live in the country and have a few chickens. I am retired and have become posessed with the idea of getting some bees. Any advice is welcome. Thanks

2. Walt B

Walt B New Member

Welcome to the forum. :hi:

I have no experience with top bar hives. There are a few on the forum who have them. I would guess most have Langstroth hives.

Walt

3. riverrat

riverrat New Member

Well welcome to the forum we are glad to have you. We are the biggest little bee keeping forum on the world wide web. Im looking forward to you being an active part of our forum. You couldnt have found a nicer group of knowlegeble bee people anywhere else. Sounds like you kind of got a direction you want to go. I would suggest reading up on the different types of hive then pick the one that best suits the direction you want to go. All hives have there advantages as well as disadvantages over each other. I just notice you are from northeast Kansas I grew up in Ottawa. We have a few members on the forum from up your way around Olathe also there is a couple good clubs up your way the north East kansas Beekeepers Association and the kansas Honey Producers association. Once again welcome and looking forward to having you around.

:hi:

4. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

Welcome.
    You have come to the right spot for asking questions about bees. We are a friendly sort here and many of the beeks have plenty of experience that they are willing to share.
    TBH's are an inexpensive way to start beekeeping but they can have their limitations in my opinion.
    Besides finding this site :D the next best thing you can do is to find a mentor (local beekeeper who would be willing to assist you on your journey).