New to Forum and Bees.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Yankee11, May 10, 2012.

1. Yankee11

Yankee11 New Member

Been around the forum a week or two, just havn't had time to make it over here until now. I will say this is
    a very helpfull and nice group of people. A great place to talk bees.

I live in Arkansas and really am not a Yankee. I have never lived any farther north than AR or TN. I use Yankee11 because I was a baseball coach of a competetive traveling baseball team and we called ourselves
    Yankees and my sons # was 11. He is now a pitching in college his junior year but the Yankee11 has just
    stuck with me. So, now you know "The rest of the story"

We have 5 acres and raise everything from vegetables, fruits, berries, herbs and chickens. Now bees. I make jellies, jams, pickles, relishes, salsa etc. and have started canning. I am on a mission to see how self sufficiant I can be. Plus the food is just far better than anything you can get in the store. I have even gone one step farther this year. Everything I planted this year in the garden in Heirloom. No more buying Hybred seeds every year. I will save all my own seeds.

I love seeing something go from a seed to the jar or to my plate. I guess thats why these bees a natural fit for me.

Anyway, thats a little about me and where I come from. See ya on the forums.

Thanks, Steve

2. Americasbeekeeper

Americasbeekeeper New Member

3. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

Hey Steve, glad you introduced yourself. :thumbsup:

The self sufficient thing will probably pay big dividends in the future, if not right now. I remember pouring over every edition of Mother Earth News and Harrowsmith, etc. back to when they were almost new! :shock:
    Even though I don't live it now, I have always maintained if things go to *#!! in a handbasket, the people sitting on a parcel of land providing for themselves will feel it a lot less than the rest of us.

Welcome. :hi:

4. Walt B

Walt B New Member