Newbee in West Central Indiana

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by "Doc", Jul 27, 2012.

1. "Doc"

"Doc" New Member

Hi everyone,
    I'm new to beekeeping. I set up my 1st hive from package bees on April 29th. It has grown to 2 hive bodies + 1 super (which I just added this week). We are in extreme drought conditions here in West Central Indiana & I have been very worried about my new bees. I have provided them a water source (chicken waterer) near the hive entrance & up until late last week I had been feeding them 1:1 sugar water in a boardman feeder every 2-4 days. I was told by the person I got the hive & bees from to quit feeding them when I added the super. The hive is located in a grassy area just east of my woods where normally there would be wild black raspberries, blackberries, multiflora rose, clover and numerous other wild blooming plants. We have not had a significant rain in over a month and it is so dry here that even the weeds are dying. I guess I'm mainly looking for insight/input in what I need to provide these bees to ensure that they survive now & are ready for the winter (if & when winter comes).

Thanks in advance,

Crystal Chapple

2. Zeevah

Zeevah New Member

Hi "Doc" and welcome to the forum! I know you'll get a lot of great info here.

My weather conditions are opposite of yours, so it would be better for someone on the forum from your area to advise you. However, I would be concerned about using an boardman feeder during a drought/dearth as that can definitely invite robbing!

Welcome! :)

3. BoilerJim

BoilerJim New Member

Welcome Doc! I'm your neighbor over in Lafayette, IN. Your hive seller was correct in saying to quit feeding when you put the super on as you don't want sugar water mixed in with your honey. :wink: