NewBee location question

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by wadesisk, May 6, 2012.

1. wadesisk

wadesisk New Member

Hello,

Newbie here.
    I just installed my first bee package 2 days ago. Everything looks good.
    Yesterday a friend finds a small swarm in his apple tree(I guess i could have saved a hundred bucks).
    I caught the swarm in a medium that I had bought to put on my first hive, with plywood screwed to the top and bottom. My first ever catch. It went well.

I am planning to leave the new swarm in the medium(with the bottom cracked open as an entrance) until I can buy or build a bottom and top and some more supers.

My questions are--

1. I have already put the new hive about 200 feet away from my first hive. How long does it take a hive to imprint on a location?

2. Should I move the new swarm hive close to my first hive, or should I put some distance between the two?

3. Would it be ok to move for it the first few days, before they learn their location?

4. Should I transfer the new hive to a deep, or would it be ok to just start off with the medium body?

Thanks in advance,
    Wadesisk

2. dr.buzz

dr.buzz New Member

For my convenience, I like to put hives close together to save me walking all over the place. Swarms are mostly nurse bees anyway that haven't done orientation flights on the new location yet. I'd move them wherever you want, and if it makes you feel better, put some little branches or paper or leaves or something over their entrance to encourage any foragers to re-orient on that spot and everything should be fine. You do plan on giving them some 1:1 sugar syrup to start out with I assume.

As far as the size of hive body, if it was me, I'd only put them in a deep. If you let them start drawing medium frames and getting a good brood nest going, how would you move them into a deep when they grow without making them start all over drawing out deep frames? That's assuming that you plan to use deeps as brood boxes, of course.