Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here, got a beehive with the house, need advice

So i recently purchased a house, and one of the bonus' that came with it is that the previous owners had a bee hive and left it for me. Unfortunately due to the crappy weather and lots of extra work with moving into the house and such i was only able to crack it open for an inspection for the first time last week.

Having read a couple of books and having no knowledge or experience other then that i wanted to post some pictures of my frames and box and maybe get some tips and advice from you guys.

http://imgur.com/a/r0l0m

So my first issue is that the hive boxes are old and Styrofoam, there kind of nasty and there might be ants actually living in it, they have tunnels and stuff dug out of it all over the place. so i want to replace it. i was thinking a warre hive as i like that design i just dont know how i could transfer from this to a ware hive, any tips?

next I am guessing i wont be able to harvest any honey this year, i see a very very large amount of dark comb which i assume is all brood, or is it just old wax with honey in it? there is no queen limiter so i dont know what to think.

let me know anything you guys see or any tips you might have thanks for your time.

·
Registered
2,337 Posts
We need to know your general location, since so much depends on local seasons.

If it were me, I'd leave this hive completely alone until the Spring, at which time I'd split it in two and relocate it into all new Langstroth boxes and frames. Meanwhile I'd paint up new boxes and make new frames and learn a lot about beekeeping. :smile: