Newbie with questions... should i be concerned....

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by devo324, Apr 20, 2013.

1. devo324

devo324 New Member

Hi all,

My name is Devin and I was hoping you all might be able to give me some help as I am a new bee keeper. I belong to a bee keeping association but it is rather small so the more experienced bee keepers are very tough to get a hold of (normally 1 weeks worth of time before a response). I have heard the old saying of ask 10 bee keepers a question you will get 13 different answers. I am fine with that and figure different opinions won't hurt.
    Since I am new to beekeeping I know I am not great at spotting queens. The club did me no favors either by ordering unmarked queens with the packages for they believe they might think the colony might feel she is defective and kill her. I was not even able to spot her in that smaller cage from the packages I bought. I have probably done every new beekeeper mistake in the book: dropping the queen cage down in the package of bees, getting stung on the neck when installing the packages to hives because one got under the veil, to having to release a queen from the queen cage and unsure if she flew away when I opened it. All of my mistakes aside I really want to be good at this.