Not a Fun Day, Need Advice.

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by HenniPenni, May 10, 2012.

1. HenniPenni

HenniPenni New Member

Hi All,
    I am very new to the bee world. I have 4 hives. My husband bought a double deep hive of Carniolans for me, my first hive. Then a friend gave me a swarm of Italians. Last Friday, we bought two Nucs. One was Cordovan and the other Italian.

The Carniolans are a very strong hive and to my uneducated eye appeared to show signs of overcrowding. So after discussion I decided to do a split. In preparation for the split, I purchased two Carniolan queens. One for the split and one to requeen the original hive. So after a couple of days of gray and raining weather here in the foothills of NC, I finally had a beautiful afternoon to execute the split and requeen the original hive.

First of all I will start off saying that I made some mistakes that I know of. Maybe some that I don't know of yet. But, everything seemed to go well as far as the split was concerned. Except that later while eating dinner I realized I did not take the cork out of the candy end and I don't think I shook down enough bees for this Nuc.
    So after dinner I went back out and did so.

Now for the not so fun part...As I said before this hive had two deep hive bodies and I had already placed a medium super on it last week. So as I was going through the top hive I pulled the frames for the nuc. Okay so far. Then I continued examining the top hive body for the queen and investigate for queen cells. I found a few queen cells, but no queen in the top hive body. I know there was a live queen as late as last Saturday.