Nuc second story boxes

Discussion in 'Building plans, blueprints, and finished projects' started by PerryBee, Aug 16, 2013.

1. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

I have a bunch of nucs that are housing extra queens that we (Adam Foster Collins and I) raised, and they were starting to get crowded and I don't really have a use for them (yet). I decided I would build some second story 5 frame boxes based on the D.Coates design. The sides are only 9 3/4" tall versus the original 10 1/8" but other than that, you can make 8 of them out of a single sheet of plywood (no need for tops or bottoms).

Nuc second story 001.jpg Nuc second story 002.jpg Nuc second story 003.jpg Nuc second story 006.jpg Nuc second story 005.jpg Nuc second story 004.jpg

2. brooksbeefarm

brooksbeefarm New Member

I have been doing this for several years, and it works great to extend time for putting them in 10 frame hives, if you are to busy to fool with them.:thumbsup: I have been wanting to see if they would make it through our winters here with this set up? I made some top feeders for my nucs that will hold over a gallon of syrup, and they work good, so i may try it this winter.:???: Jack

3. blueblood

blueblood New Member

Thanks for posting Perry. When we were chatting this morning, it is what I have envisioned. Jack, I am going to try to winter my latest open air colony over using a second nuc. I was thinking I need to make my entrance bigger to accept the jar feeder base.

4. brooksbeefarm

brooksbeefarm New Member

I think i remember riverrat,taking nuc's through the winter? The Kansas weather isn't to different from mine,maybe he can give us some pointers if he reads this. Jack

5. blueblood

blueblood New Member

By the way, nice crocks Perry :grin:.

6. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

LOLOL, I just got those, after 12 years I wore my first pair out. I love 'em, except when the bees find the holes. :shock:

7. blueblood

blueblood New Member

8. camero7

camero7 Member