OHIO Newb to beekeeping

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Levi Binegar, Mar 31, 2013.

1. Levi Binegar

Levi Binegar New Member

hey guys! my name is Levi. my girlfriends dad is thinking about keep bees. I have been interested for several years in beekeeping but havent had space to do it, but would like to get involved with him in keeping bees. the local associations classes are full, so here we are. i guess we will be self taught. basically... being that we are totally green to this... outside of buying a bee kit online and reading some library books... we would love any suggestions you guys would provide! thanks! were looking forward to learning and having fun with this hobby!

2. riverbee

riverbee Active Member

WELCOME, WELCOME and WELCOME......!....:lol:
    hi levi! feel free to post away and ask questions, this is a great place to "put your feet up" and hang out!

[​IMG]!!!!

3. JUDELT

JUDELT New Member

welcome, this is a great place to learn!

4. riverrat

riverrat New Member

welcome to the forum. You have found a great place to learn about bees:thumbsup:

5. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

Let me add my voice to those saying Welcome!
    You have found a great spot to learn. Read everything you can find here, ask plenty of questions, use the search function, maybe searching using words like "beginning", etc.
    We be only too glad to help you begin your journey.

(PS - start with at least 2 hives) :wink:

6. kebee

kebee Active Member

Welaome Levi to the forum, glad you joined us, you can learn a lot here, know I have.

kebee

7. Iddee

Iddee New Member

First, forget buying a bee kit. You won't get all you need and will get stuff you don't need.

Buy a complete hive, an extra super, a smoker, a hive tool and the protective wear you are comfortable with. IE: A veil, or a hooded jacket, or a complete suit. Get a good pair of ""flexible" gloves. Then buy more as you learn and need.