Picking the right queen cell

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by brooksbeefarm, Feb 2, 2011.

1. brooksbeefarm

brooksbeefarm New Member

It won't be to long before swarm season,and i was wondering how some of you pick queen cells to start nuc's with, when you find several in a hive :confused: .(i know not all of you do that) I usually pick two of the biggest best formed ones,and try to put two per nuc.Some older beeks in our club say to pick the ones in the upper part of the frames,not the ones hanging near the bottom of the frame :confused: .I don't recall seeing a post on this, and thought i'd ask some of you queen producers.I don't see a difference unless it's a dink. Jack

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

I'm not a queen producer, but I choose any of the larger ones, by their ease of removing. If they are on a crosswire, or otherwise hard to cut out, I either leave them or take the whole frame.

3. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

I raise my own cells so the question here is generally more about which cells do you cull.

I could reasonable believe that cells at the center top of the brood nest might be better cells for a couple of reasons.

4. brooksbeefarm

brooksbeefarm New Member

Sorry, didn't mean just queen producers,i'd like anyone's opinion :thumbsup: .Jack

5. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

Maybe I'm wrong on this but here's my two cents.
    I would think the diet fed to swarm cells would be better than the diet fed to a cell partway up on a frame. Are not the cells raised on the sides of frames considered emergency queen cells and therefore the age of the egg/larvae might not be just right for producing a quality queen, where as the swarm cells were raised from the get go as potential queens and would have been fed the appropriate diet from the beginning? :dontknow:
    That brings to mind another question, what is the difference between an emergency queen cell and a supercedure cell, location would be the same wouldn't it? :confused: