Placing hive

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Medic1259, Mar 6, 2012.

1. Medic1259

Medic1259 New Member

Sorry for the newbie question. And I am sure someone will tell me to search the question/answere which I always do. I have checked all different sources (Books , Forums) and always find conflicting answeres. So here is my question:

Does the hive enterence have to face a specific direction?

I have found where it should face South.
    Another source recomends facing East.
    One said South East.
    and several say when they have multiable hives they are placed back to back. ( so that would be South-North or East-West).

I am at the point that I think I should do all of the above. ( put it on a lazy susan).

Again I am a complete newbie and will be setting up my first hive in the next few weeks so it will be ready for its late April nuc.

Thanks in advance
    Mike

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Anywhere from east to south, in the northern hemisphere, is preferred. It will give them the earliest sunlight so they start work a bit earlier. It also helps block the northerly and westerly winds.

The importance of this is overblown. If you can't face them that direction, it's no big thing.

3. letitbee

letitbee New Member