Potential Beekeeper in Eastern N.C.

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Hog Wild, Jan 23, 2010.

1. Hog Wild

Hog Wild New Member

I am a newbie to the beekeeping world and have yet to begin acquiring anything related to beekeeping other than books. I am interested in starting with one hive that will be kept in my backyard. I live in a rural area with plenty of gardens, fruit producing trees/vines and commercial crops so I know the bees would have plenty to feed upon.

A few questions I have, if someone would be kind enough to answer:

I raise three strands of laying chickens, 24 head count - will my hive be in danger being in the same proximatey as my birds?

I live 45 miles East of Raleigh, NC and was looking for Beekeeping suppliers in this area. Shipping charges from online suppliers are outrageous!

10 frame versus 8 frame, which is better for a beginner?

Thanks - Look forward to becoming a part of the forum!
    Dave Bradley

2. beekeeperhelper

beekeeperhelper New Member

Dave,
    You have found the very best forum for bee advice and nice people! I can't help with your second and third questions (my husband is the beekeeper and I just help) but I can attest that chickens and bees are quite compatible. We have a small flock of hens (only pets we ever had that produced anything!) and two hives. The outside coop is near the hives, and there is no predation, stinging, or fussing going on. I have been told that chickens will eat dead bees, but not live ones. I've never seen any of our hens eat bees, live or dead.
    You'll love beekeeping--it's fascinating and the honey is delicious!

3. Bitty Bee

Bitty Bee New Member

Hi hog wild. Me and my family are beekeepers down in the sand hills, near Fort Bragg. :wave:
    This is an awsome forum and I'm sure that anyone hear will be glad to help you with whatever you need.

We have 23 different chickens, mostly muts, and they have never bothered the hives. Even when we let them free range.