Question about feeding and treatment for pests.

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Yvonne, Oct 23, 2011.

1. Yvonne

Yvonne New Member

I'm new to bee keeping, had to learn fast after my fathers death in March. 7 hives at first, 5 new hives added after swarming in spring, all thriving and doing well. All have full supers for winter. :Dancing: About feeding- should I feed our bees and if so what? I have seen certain bee suppliments/feedings offered on bee supply sites.
    As far as preventive treatment for pests/disease, how often should we treat them. I know my father treated them in the fall . We have treated them this fall as Daddy did not treat them last year. Any suggestions and hints appreciated. :confused:

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

#1... Feed sugar water when needed only. If they have 50 lb. of honey or more, do not feed. If they need, mix 2 parts sugar and 1 part water. You must heat the water to get that much sugar to dissolve in it.

One pint sugar equals 1 LB.
    2:1 can be pints or lbs. or one and the other. Doesn't matter.

Treat only if needed. Do a search on mite counts, sugar shake, and mite drop. It will tell you different ways to check for mites.

You may want to feed fumigillin-b for nosema as a preventative, but all other treatments should not be done as a preventative, only as a needed treatment.

3. Yvonne

Yvonne New Member