Question about nuc sales etiquette

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by Tyro, Jun 9, 2014.

1. Tyro

Tyro Member

This is my first year selling nucs. I went conservative. Advertised locally - sold only about a dozen because I wanted to make sure that I could deliver. Had to turn about twice that many people away once the nucs were sold.

Well - I am finishing up my second and final round of nuc-making. I have a nuc that is sold and it has been ready since last Friday. I notified the buyer that the nuc was ready to pick up. Nothing. Sent a 'reminder' today via email. The buyer replied that her hive should be arriving at her home in the next couple of days and that she would let me know when she can come and get (and pay for) the nuc.

My question is - what is the proper course of action here. I had to turn a LOT of people down who wanted nucs (I took orders on a 'first come/first served basis). I still have their numbers. I haven't taken any money and this person appears to be completely unprepared for beekeeping (I have had other exchanges with her that reinforce this conclusion).

Do I just keep waiting for this person to get their act together - meanwhile, taking care of 'her' bees until she does? How long should I reasonably wait before I consider cancelling the sale and sell the nuc to another? I am getting a bit frustrated with the situation, for 3+ weeks while queens were being made, I was contacted a number of times about when things would be ready. She seemed pretty impatient then, now I am holding onto the nuc when I could use the equipment for my own overwinter nuc/queen raising.

All perspectives are appreciated. Thanks.

Mike

2. Zookeep

Zookeep Active Member

well best to wait the few days, 100 good sales you hear nothing but 1 disgruntled customer (her) and every1 in the area will hear about it even if its totally her to blame.

3. Tyro

Tyro Member