Sick Larvae

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by UrbanGreenBee, Feb 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. UrbanGreenBee

UrbanGreenBee New Member

Hello, My name is Heidi Wolff and I have been keeping bees for about 12 years. I manage the Bee Lab at the George Washington University and make poorly edited instructional videos on beekeeping. My friend Eddy Honey recommended that I post these pics on this forum to see if anyone has ideas. I am hoping that it is not AFB. Since it is in an observation hive, it is difficult to open it up, and I have not done the 'thread test' yet. I hope to do that when I can take the hive outside, weather permitting. Any ideas?

Attached Files:

2. Eddy Honey

Eddy Honey New Member

Welcome Heidi. You won't find a friendlier bunch of beeks!

Are the blue circles showing us something? The one circle is right over a larvae.

Thnks,
    Ed

3. sqkcrk

sqkcrk New Member

I don't see what you are seeing. It's hard enuf when not holding the top bar in ones hands w/ the sun shining over ones shoulder across the comb surface.

How are the cappings? Are they healthy looking or are they sunken w/ somewhat an oily sheen to them?

4. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

this likely should have been posted in another section.

not so great pictures... but I will give it a go anyway. pictures 3, 4 and 5 uncapped larvae at the center of picture look like they are melting. best guess would be european foul brood (perhaps the newer 'snot' brood) or perhaps some dietary deficiency. american foul brood happens at just a bit later stage of development.

is the observation hive in a heated or unheated space.

5. UrbanGreenBee

UrbanGreenBee New Member

I see I should have put this post in the pest/pathogen section and not the intro section, but I am new to this forum, so I suppose it is ok!

The blue circles are dry erase marker to note where I see abnormalities.