Small Hive Beetles ?

Discussion in 'Pests and Diseases' started by tcchris, May 16, 2010.

1. tcchris

tcchris New Member

Hi , this is my first year of beekeeping . We started late , hived the bees 1 week ago , released queen 3 days later . They had eaten through most of the candy by then .
    I seem to have shb's . Little beetles running around at the top hive feeder .
    I saw one when we opened the top on day two to check sugar water , and today I see about 6 or 8 up there .
    Is this normal to get them that fast or did they come with the bees ?
    I made a temporary trap out of a ddr ram case , one hole on each side . Canola oil in bottom and a little cap of banana vinegar mix in the middle . I put this trap above the inner cover which is above the feeder .
    I am not apposed to buying a trap , I just felt I should do something immediately .
    Any suggestions on traps or bait appreciated .

By the way , I have a screened bottom board , one brood chamber so far , and the feeder inner cover and outer cover .Also my inner cover has no notch in front , does that matter in georgia ?

2. rast

rast New Member

If they are SHB, you're right, the faster the better.
    Was this a package? Sounds like it.
    New equipment or used?
    Drawn comb or foundation?
    I would keep the bees as compacted as possible as they draw out frames with a division board, assuming they are on foundation. If they are on drawn comb, pull out some frames and add it as they fill it. The point is you want so many bees in their living quarters that the SHB is too busy running from a bee to stop and lay eggs.
    If you have screened bottom board with a slide provision, I would get a slide in oil pan.
    I'm still wondering if they are SHB's in a hive this new.

3. tcchris

tcchris New Member

It was a 3lb package
    I have 1 10 frame brood chamber with 10 frames with wax foundation .
    I built the box and frames new from kits I purchased the week before .