Solar Fencers, Bears, Your Two Cents

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by riverbee, Apr 24, 2012.

1. riverbee

riverbee Active Member

Blankety blank solar fencer bit the dust again. Looking for advice on what others use to keep bears out, or for those of you who use solar chargers for livestock and pest control. I need a solar unit, 0.15 or much greater joules or carries a charge of up to 7,000 volts +. I need to get another unit up and running quickly,already had a fat coon go to a lot of trouble to climb up past the dead wires.

(EDIT...i need a solar fencer that charges out anywhere between 7,000 and 8500 volts regardless of the 'joules' it is rated for....7000 volts is plenty for a bear).

The unit I have been using for the past 7-8 years was a Zareba sp10, POS, junk don’t buy it. I have replaced this unit 3 times now; customer service is questionable at best. I sent this last unit in last spring when it died, for repair under warranty, and they sent me someone else’s unit that had been refurbished. Seriously?!

Googled some this morning, I saw this one, by Gallagher:

Gallagher S17 Solar Fencer

Anyone use this unit? Or have suggestions on another unit you have used and would recommend?
    Thanks in advance.

2. efmesch

efmesch Active Member

Contact Omie about her magic green paint. :lol:

3. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

A lot of the folks around here use those but I really don't know how effective they are when it comes to bears.
    Find attached a Ontario Ministry report.
    Check out the minimum joules recommended and you can see the S17 is only .17 joule where the report suggests a joule reading of 1 or higher.

http://www.mnr.gov.on.ca/en/Business/Bearwise/2ColumnSubPage/STEL02_167681.html

I have been thinking about using a marine battery. I understand they can pack a whallop and hold for about a month or more.

4. AcmeBees

AcmeBees New Member