South Fl New trap 8 days ago

Discussion in 'Swarms, Cut outs, and Trap outs' started by gustavo_m_2000, Nov 6, 2014.

Tags:
  1. gustavo_m_2000

gustavo_m_2000 New Member

Hi Ladies and Gentlemans
    I am a newbie here soon to become a hobbies beekeeper!
    I know we are not in swarming season but I would like to let you know that abouth eight days ago I installed a bee trap in one of my palm trees, the reason why I did installed the trap is because I noticed there were some bees collecting some nectar from my palm tree, so it occurred to me that I could install a trap, so I went to South Florida bee supplies and got me a trap with the lemongrass kit for $15, to give it a try, to make a long story it seems that some bees are already moved in, part of the incentive to make them move in was that I am feeding 2 to 1 syrup! so they have a nice home with syrup available for them!
    can someone tells me what happened here since we are not in swarming and still I believe I cut some bees!

how long should I wait so I could transfer to a Nuc hive?
    I know it's too soon to move them and relocate them from my front yard to my backyard !
    any inputs would be appreciate it.

I've been readings lots of books for backyard beekeeping, and currently have the book beekeeper for Dummies!
    good evening!

2. kebee

kebee Active Member

Welcome to the forum, I am afraid to tell you but you are only feeding the bees, the lemongrass are getting them there and they are feeding on the syrup. You have to have a queen move in before you can get the bees to stay and that only happen when they swarm.

‚ÄčKen

3. gustavo_m_2000

That's what I though!
    the syrup it's outside of the bee trap in and a platform just for the feeder!

them the bees flight into the the trap. with their tail up dancing, also I 've been noticed that they are defending their trap entrance, I saw a two bees fighting and they end up on the ground but then both of them took off.

I am still hopeful!