Splitting a beehive

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Westraad, Apr 25, 2012.

1. Westraad

Westraad New Member

To anyone that can help: I am new at this, have a crowded bee-hive that needs a split. Need to know the correct procedure and what precautions to take. Do I have to find and move the queen to the new hive? We are living in Mozambique, here are no queen bees for sale! Will appreciate your input, thanks. Wimpie Xai-Xai.

2. CharlieB

CharlieB New Member

The easiest way without introducing a new queen to the split is to let the bees raise their own queen. Place a new hive box next to the parent hive. Divide the frames up evenly placing half the frames from the parent hive into the new box. Keep all the frames that you divided in the center of each hive box. Fill in the empty outer space in each hive with empty frames.

Which ever box has the queen will continue with more space for her to eventually lay. The split hive will raise a queen.

Best of luck!

3. markles

markles New Member

I don't know how severe your winters are in Xai-Xai (or how much forage is about at this time of the year) but it might be better to wait until spring if you can.

4. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

these are sometimes referred to here as a walk away split. as markles I think suggest these are the easiest to do in the early spring time when the nectar flow is steady and predictable. I rear queens so there is no benefit in me 'letting them raise their own queen'. I do however make a lot of splits and for me moving the existing queen with the split some distance away seems to cause the least amount of confusion for the bees.

5. Iddee

Iddee New Member

Along with what was said above, find the queen if you can. If found, take her and split the hive frames between the two. Leaving more brood frames with the queenless half. Be sure there are eggs in the queenless half.

If you can't find the queen, do as Perry said, but be sure there are eggs in both halves.