Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
711 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tomorrow the IDNR State Apiary Inspector will be coming to check my hives. I emailed her last week to check this green horns bees. Will be glad what she finds out with my one slow hive. Will post results!

·
Registered
197 Posts
I have been meaning to to this as well but have been hesitant. Being a general contractor by trade the word "inspector" invokes images of pure evil. :lol: Of course that's not the way it is with our state apiary inspector. I am told that he is quite pleasant to work with.

·
Registered
1,252 Posts
Ive talked to my areas inspector 2 times and both he was too busy to inspect my hives, he was going to call me when he had time and not heard a peep out of him since January, he said I was in the process of being inspected (on his list) so I had nothing to worry about, that I was legal now and its just a matter of time till he gets around to me, I travel up and down the west coast of florida doing removals from naples to north tampa and have seen alot of hive boxes sitting in yards with no numbers kinda makes you wonder.

·
Registered
711 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well, after taking the day off tomorrow to get inspected I just received an email saying she can't make it. GRRR! So, she'll be over Wed. AFTER I get off work! The plus side of this is I will spend the day with the GF.

·
Registered
349 Posts
Well, after taking the day off tomorrow to get inspected I just received an email saying she can't make it. GRRR! .
Having only one inspector for the entire state makes Kathleen one busy gal! I know she's been having vehicle issues due to budget cutbacks. She keeps getting crappy vehicles that don't work, and has had to take her own car to a number of inspections. Kathleen is great at explaining what's going on in a hive, and you'll learn a lot.

Wednesday is supposed to be another scorcher, so take a few extra bottles of water or gatorades with you.