Swarm combine question

Discussion in 'Swarms, Cut outs, and Trap outs' started by d.magnitude, Aug 1, 2011.

1. d.magnitude

d.magnitude New Member

Hi guys,
    I just got a swarm call this morning, that I hope will still be around late this afternoon when I can get to it. Thing is, around here it's getting pretty late to build up a swarm to overwinter. The spring flow is over, and we just take our chances w/ a fall flow.

I assume I'll be combining this swarm colony with another of mine one way or another. Any recommendations? I'm thinking I'll hive it, let it draw a box of comb and then combine (removing one or the other queen). Is there a better way? I guess I could just shake it out in front of my hives, but I'm afraid that may be wasteful (though I don't want to be wasteful with my time, either).

Thanks for any tips. This is my first year taking swarm calls, and it's been a blast every time so far.
    -Dan

2. brooksbeefarm

brooksbeefarm New Member

I would hive them and feed them so they would draw comb, (they are ready to draw comb when they swarm) i would them pick the best queen and then combine them the newspaper way. New comb is like money in the bank to a beekeeper. Jack

3. d.magnitude

d.magnitude New Member

Cool, that sounds like my plan #1. I have a queen I like in a nuc I was going to try to overwinter. Perhaps I'll combine w/ this to make a full size hive going into winter.

-Dan

4. d.magnitude

d.magnitude New Member

Oh well, this will have to be "one that got away".

Since I wouldn't be able to get out to get the swarm till late this afternoon, I referred the guy to some folks in my local club. He had a prompt taker, of course. I'm happy as long as somebody got them, I was afraid they'd take off by the time I got there anyway.

-Dan

5. mjrice

mjrice New Member

What is the newspaper way?

6. d.magnitude

d.magnitude New Member