Talk to me about essential oils in syrup

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by ASTMedic, Jun 10, 2013.

1. ASTMedic

ASTMedic New Member

So I'm studying the topic of making an essential mix for my syrup and I'm thinking of spraying the Ritecell when I check the girls next time.

Since the girls are trying to get going after the supersedure I figured I should go back to feeding them. They still hadn't touched the bare Ritecell when I checked them on Thursday. Brood looks good though so I want to give them a boost. Anything I should know before going down this road?

I'm going to use this recipe:

> 5 cups water
    > 2 1/2 pounds of sugar
    > 1/8 teaspoon lecithin granules (used as an emulsifier)
    > 15 drops spearmint oil
    > 15 drops lemongrass oil

Bring the water to a boil and stir in the sugar until it is dissolved. Once the sugar is dissolved remove the mixture from the heat and quickly add the lecithin and the essential oils. Stir the mixture thoroughly. This solution should have a strong scent and not be left open around bees. Cool before using.

2. Gypsi

Gypsi Super Moderator Staff Member

there is a reason not to boil their sugar water and I am not sure what it is, but it seemed important at one time. Something about a chemical change that occurs when sugar is boiled. HELP!

Personally I just bought a block of beeswax from Dadant and dripped it on the ritecell, then fed plain sugar water. Essential oils incite robbery attempts pretty well. Boiling essential oils causes them to evaporate I think, so that's money in the air...

3. Mama Beek

Mama Beek New Member

I've used the spearmint and lemongrass oils before with no robbing issues...it has been known to incite robbing at times though, just be aware and keep some robbing screens handy if you decide to use it. Please take the water off of the heat before you stir in the sugar to prevent it from caramelizing and upsetting the bees digestion :wink:

4. riverbee

riverbee Active Member

ast,