The casual splitting method

Discussion in 'Raising Queens' started by Omie, Jun 30, 2011.

1. Omie

Omie New Member

I just thought I'd add a new thread on making new queens using the 'lazy/casual' way by making splits and giving queen cells or frames with eggs to new splits to make their own queens with.

As a relative beginner, I have been having a huge amount of fun and am learning so much by doing this. It works very well for people with just a few hives and no aspirations to sell queens or bees, or to have a whole lot of hives.

Of my two hives last year, only one survived our long northern winter. By making splits and then keeping an eye on the outcome and providing more frames of eggs if needed, I have been able to turn that one hive into four now, and have the satisfaction of knowing my new queens are young and vigorous and have the local genetics that may help my new hives make it through the winters here. Plus, as someone who can only have a handful of hives, I don't want to have to keep buying new bees every Spring- I want to try to raise and replace my own bees in a self-sustainable way.

I think that learning how to make splits and helping those splits raise new local queens is something beginners should consider trying by their second year of beekeeping. It's so awesome in so many ways!

2. LtlWilli

LtlWilli New Member

You make it sound so good, Omie, I'm tempted to do just that. I have two big, very vigorous hives ,and I know they have plenty insidet o support a split---Just wish I had a mentor here for the first time at bat. The last thing I want is a major foulup with the ladies. That always gets me in deep water before I know it... :eek:

3. sqkcrk

sqkcrk New Member

Omie,