The initial cost for 2 hives

Discussion in 'General Beekeeping' started by TheHolemanBrothers, Sep 25, 2013.

1. TheHolemanBrothers

TheHolemanBrothers New Member

Okay So i'm new to this and need some advice. Here are my questions, I want to have two hives but should I go with buying new equipment or going with used equipment? what would the cost difference be? Roughly how much am I looking at for the cost of one bee hive and the equipment I need? Plastic or Wood? I want at least 3 supers. Does anyone know of a good website where to buy packaged bees? One last questions What kind of bees are the best, Should I go with Italians??? Thank you

2. Ray

Ray Member

My suggestion is to do a search of this web site for most of your questions.
    Most have been covered. :)

If your new to beekeeping how can you evaluate used equipment?

Personal protection to start: a veil is enough (sometimes :) )

Cost is variable! Do you know anybody with a router and a table saw. If you do, there are plans for all your woodware on the internet. Cutting the frames however is a task best left for cabinet makers and masochists.

Plastic or wood? Are you trying to start a fight?

Package bees. IMO, don't buy from a website. The shipping costs are terrible. There is a good possibility that there is someone local, that will have packages in the spring.

What bees are best? Are you trying to start a fight?

If you are trying to start a fight, don't forget: foundation or foundationless, small cell or large cell, chemicals or organic, 8 frame or 10 frame, supers; deep, medium or small ........

How does that go? ask 8 different Beeks a question and get 10 different answers :)

3. Iddee

Iddee New Member

No, Ray, it's ask 10 and get 11. :duel:

Two hives, new, plus bees, about 400.
    Protective gear, 20 to 300. That's a veil to a ventilated suit and gloves.
    Smoker and hive tool, 50.
    Supers, 40 each.