Time to be concerned? (total noob)

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by Loptr, Apr 17, 2013.

1. Loptr

Loptr New Member

So after reading a few books I took the plunge.

I installed two nucs into 8 frame Langstroth boxes on Sun. It was a beautiful spring day in the high 50's to low 60's. I have left some syrup for them to forage on and on Monday I put a roughly 6" by 1/2" patty of pollen substitue and powdered sugar on the top of the frames in each box.
    Hive A appeared to have fewer bees and less active from the start.
    Hive B is behaving as I would consider normal.
    The very next day it dropped to the low 40's and the bees caught an hour or two of foraging. Yesterday was a repeat mid 40's only hive B showed an real activity. Hive A was almost completly dormant based on viewing from the outside.
    I am reluctant to keep opening the hive and losing the heat they generate. So I am telling myself to relax be patient and wait for a warmer day. Todays high should be 49 and tomorrows 61.
    Soo....
    Am I doing the right thing by relaxing (trying to) not worrying and having a homebrew? Or do I need to take some kind of action?
    Loptr

2. blueblood

blueblood New Member