to wire, or not to wire...

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by d.magnitude, Jan 19, 2011.

1. d.magnitude

d.magnitude New Member

Boy, I have a real beeginer's question.

I started last year w/ plastic foundation but felt that they took rather long to draw it out, so this year I'm starting all my new hives w/ wax foundation.

I have crimp wire foundation, ready to be installed, and assumed that I'm supposed to cross-wire my frames as well. Is that not the case? It just recently struck me as perhaps redundant, but as I said I've never used wax foundation before, so please... tell me what to do.

Thanks,
    -Dan

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

3. G3farms

G3farms New Member

I wire everything except for thin cut comb foundation used for chunk honey.

4. G3farms

G3farms New Member

I wire everything except for thin cut comb foundation used for chunk honey.

5. d.magnitude

d.magnitude New Member

My apologies. I missed the same question previously posted with the same title, not 10 posts down the page. :oops:

I read it now. I'll wire after all, just thought I might get away with saving a step. Sorry again.

6. G3farms

G3farms New Member

Well that's not a problem, no need to be sorry. Now you know for sure :thumbsup:

7. Bens-Bees

Bens-Bees New Member

d.magnitude, I'm glad you started this thread though because you brought something new up with regard to getting bees to draw out plastic foundation...