Too many bees?

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by darrenct83, Jun 13, 2011.

1. darrenct83

darrenct83 New Member

Hello All. I am a total newbie and in need of a little help. When I heard a friend of mine had a huge bee swarm in her tree I decided it was finally time to take the plunge and get in to beekeeping. In about two hours I threw together a very nice top bar hive using scrap wood I had laying around.

After heroically cutting the swarm down from a high branch and shaking it in to the hive I took my new hobby home. My concern is that I may have captured too large of a swarm for my hive. My hive measures 22" long and 17" Wide. It has seventeen 17" X 1-1/4" top bars. My hive dimensions were designed to utilize my available materials as well as possible.

Any advice from the pros about how many bees is too many? What to do if that is the case. Or am I just worrying too much? I am posting a picture of the swarm to give you an idea of just how many bees I have.

Attached Files:

2. PerryBee

PerryBee New Member

Now under normal circumstances, I would say there is no such thing as too many bees but :shock: wow, that is some nice sized swarm! :thumbsup: :mrgreen:
    I guess if you're going to have a problem getting started in beekeeping, this is the one to have! :lol:
    My advice? Build a second hive, order a second queen, and then start calling your yard "Darren's Apiary"
    Congratulations!

3. riverrat

riverrat New Member

Another option would be. IMHO I think it will balance out on its own. Most of the bees in the swarm are forager bees.
    They dont have a long life span left. They need to start building comb in the top bar hive before the queen can lay. Then there is another 21 days before they hatch. Im thinking this is a good problem to have and will work itself out in time. I would much rather have a large swarm than a small any day of the week.

4. darrenct83

darrenct83 New Member