Tools needed

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by littlebit, Jun 22, 2011.

1. littlebit

littlebit New Member

I am new to this whole beekeeping thing. A friend gave me a hive, and I really like the idea of this endeavor. I am committed to the bees, and not afraid of the work it takes to keep them safe, healthy, and happy.
    However, at this point all I have been able to do is look at them and read material. I have no tools or gear, and as many others might relate, no money to just go out and buy what the bees and I need. I hope it is not inappropriate in this forum to ask, nor too absurd a request, but being older, and not as able to make a quick buck by hiring myself out for hard labor, I am looking for a ex-beekeeper who might have some tools etc. they want to part with. I am open to any generous donation. If anyone feels big-hearted and lives near Springfield, MO, I would love to hear from you. Thank you.

2. G3farms

G3farms New Member

A smoker, hive tool and veil are the minimum you will need.

Look around on craigs list, every now and then you can find a bargain, local clubs are a wealth of beekeepers that always have some extra gear.

3. riverrat

riverrat New Member

actually I feel you are starting off the way all keeps should start. I bet you cant find a keep anywhere that doesnt have some kind of gadget he or she bought laying in the bottom of the tool box not being used for there intended purpose with the bees. Mine is a frame gripper bought it and never really used it. You could use a paint scraper I have even used a screw driver for a hive tool. If you look around on the internet there is sites that show how to make homemade smokers. you can also buy used ones cheap on ebay. As you get deeper into the bees the more you will figure out what you need. Then go get it as you have the money. :thumbsup:

4. charmd2

charmd2 New Member

Mosquito net mask. Ebay. $5-10 bucks. Cheap veil and we prefer them to a real veil.