Torn queen cells, no queen seen, no eggs

Discussion in 'Beekeeping 101' started by ScoobyDoBee, Jul 1, 2011.

1. ScoobyDoBee

ScoobyDoBee New Member

June 24 created split. (Edit: should be 6/16) This is my first time to open the split. I'm in the daughter box (8 fr deep). Assuming there were no existing queen cells, which I am pretty certain there were none, it's a week early for a queen to have been made and out already, true??? That would be just 2 weeks from split with eggs.

I did find "ravaged" queen cells - definitely not ones in the making (though I did find ONE open one too). There were but a few brood, I am sure from what I originally put in. No NEW brood - certainly too early for that. Did not see any eggs, but if she did hatch that's still 2 weeks out I think. No capped honey. Lots of pollen and something else - almost honey? Looked denser than nectar but was not capped.

So, I'm thinking I have to still just sit tight for another 2 weeks? And is it probable that a queen did in fact hatch after only 2 weeks from split? And in 2 weeks if no eggs, I must requeen or combine??

Thanks!!

2. Iddee

Iddee New Member

The queen emerged 12 or 13 days after the split. You have a queen a few days old. She will begin laying sometime between 5 days old and 20 days old.

3. ScoobyDoBee

ScoobyDoBee New Member

WOOOOO WOOOOOO!!!!! :yahoo: (I hope!)

4. Omie

Omie New Member

Yay! Keep us posted, and try not to go into the hive too much, tempting though it is.

5. G3farms

G3farms New Member

After hatching she has to grow a little, become sexually mature and take her mating flight.

6. Larus

Larus New Member