Total Noob

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by LunacyMountain, Oct 26, 2012.

1. LunacyMountain

LunacyMountain New Member

Hey everyone...I'm a total beginner, I've been on a bunch of sites and forums over the past few months and I've decided to land ship over here on this forum board..hopefully I won't cause too much ruckus while I'm around...but anyways back to the introduction....

I've been meeting up with a local beekeeper, who's family has been keeping for over 70 years and doing rounds with him at his honey fields and his nursery fields...learning all my basics about safety and hive components and working with the bees instead of against them..last week we feed a lot of poor hives that didn't look like they had enough honey stores for the winter..we winterized about 40 hives by switching to top feeders inside a hive body and adding entrance reducers and did full inspections on any hives that had any signs of hive beetles or other pests....

that's about all my on hands experience at the moment, I'm taking the winter to obtain the rest of my beekeeping tools. I all ready have all my protective gear and a smoker and hive tool....

we have extensive flower and veggie gardens plus fruit trees around the house and I will be planting a mix of 5 diff types of clover around the hive location....the hives have a radius of about 3/4 mile old growth forest then about 1/4 mile of new growth then a few wild fields
    there is a pond about 1/2 mile from the hives and a small creek closer than that

I plan on starting out with 3 hives in the spring...custom 9 frame box's -two deep hive bodies for each hive.....

well that's about it for now...

2. brooksbeefarm

brooksbeefarm New Member

Welcome to the forum,looks like you've got a plan:thumbsup: we have some members on the forum in your neck of the woods. One real old beekeeper named Iddee, look him up.:grin: Jack

3. tecumseh

tecumseh New Member

I like the name and welcome.

4. riverbee

riverbee Active Member